Stay Focus in Your Writing

Many writers will find themselves staring at their work, knowing they need to write, but suddenly, getting the house clean or fixing supper becomes more important. Their writing suffers in the mean time. I see this constantly on Twitter as many will even joke that they are turning off their phones and internet so they can focus on their writing, but instead post later that their dishes are clean and the house carpets were shampooed.

Yes, I believe there are times that we find ourselves falling into the trap of being intimidated by our own work or even lacking the inspiration needed to keep going. Then the lovely writer blocks appear and they are some of the worst things to happen to a story.

But you are a writer. If you are anything like me or several other writers, we can’t turn our brain’s off. Even in the writer’s block stage, our brain’s are thinking of other stories or key plot’s for the current story that is not ready to be written yet.

Here are a few ways I have worked through the distractions:

  1. Keep a timer next to your computer. I will set my timer to an hour or two hours at a time with a word count goal in mind. I must complete the word count in that time frame. If I accomplish it, then I get a reward of a coffee or dessert. If I don’t, then I reset the timer for another half hour and focus on reaching the goal word count. This method has yet to fail me on reaching the goal.
  2. If you are experiencing a writer’s block – there is only a couple of reasons why I believe you are dealing with this:
    1. Your story has become boring to you and that shows in your writing. It may be a slow point in the plot and you are lacking creativity or it may be that you are thinking of other points of the story. My only recommendation is to push through it. You may have to grit your teeth or change your outline, but it will pay off in the end. Anything that does not seem to sit with you in this period, ignore it and fix it later in the revision. All you need to do is focus on getting your story down.
    2. Another plot has come to the forefront and you can not focus on your current story because you want to pursue the new idea. My suggestion is to write down everything of the new story. You don’t necessary have to start writing it, but write down the plot. Maybe even start an outline. Some of my better plot’s come to me months later after I first thought of the idea. But focus on your current story while you are thinking of your other one. You’ve already done the hard work on your current story, keep at it.
  3. Join clubs to help your focus. The NaNoWriMo is starting in November. This is an online writer’s community that sets a goal for the writer’s to achieve. For the month of November, the goal is 50,000 words. You can track your progress online and interact with the supper groups on the website. Much of the twitter writer community is also involved in NaNoWriMo. I’m looking forward to working alongside many other’s next month.

For my Weekend Challenge – sign up for the NaNoWriMo and participate next month.

I wish you all luck in your writing progress. Keep writing, keep learning.

L.R. Mauck

Author: lrmauck

Over the last decade, I have received several positive feedbacks on my stories and one college professor encouraging me to pursue a career as a writer. I have attended a few elective writing classes at IUS to help hone in on my skills. I have recently attended Kentucky Writing Workshop in Louisville, KY where I learned more hands-on experience and encouragement from other writers. I currently resides in southern Indiana with my four fur babies. Follow me on twitter at: @lrmauck

Leave a Reply

